Young AFCEAN Award

[February 2014] Brittany Paulshock, EOIR’s Marketing Lead, is the winner of this year’s Armed Forces, Communications, Electronics Association (AFCEA) award for Distinguished Young AFCEAN. Paulshock was nominated on behalf of the Aberdeen AFCEA Chapter for her dedication and work with the nonprofit since joining in 2010.

The Distinguished Young AFCEAN award recognizes and rewards exceptional performance in four areas: leadership and guidance for the Young AFCEAN program; superior technical achievement in the professional arena; a record of going above and beyond at the local AFCEAN chapter or region level; and mentoring other Young AFCEANs.

Paulshock was nominated by John Karabias, President of Young AFCEA Aberdeen Chapter. “Brittany Paulshock did Yeoman’s work pulling together a remarkable [crab feast] event under terrible weather conditions,” said Karabias. “This year’s crab feast raised a significant amount of money for the [Young AFCEAN] operating fund and attracted nearly 90 participants, sponsors, and distinguished APG personnel.”

Paulshock was presented with a plaque and recognized in front of AFCEA members worldwide at the AFCEA West Conference which took place in San Diego, CA in February of 2014.

AFCEA International is a nonprofit membership association serving the military, Government, industry, and academia as an ethical forum for advancing professional knowledge and relationships in the fields of communications, information technology, intelligence, and global security. Young AFCEANs are current and potential AFCEA members age 40 or younger. This distinct unit within the AFCEA organization provides participants with an opportunity to network with other young professionals on their way to becoming industry, military, and Government leaders.

The AFCEA Aberdeen Chapter raises funds to support merit-based scholarships to local deserving students interested in pursuing degrees in Science, Technology, Engineering, or Math (STEM). It serves Aberdeen Proving Ground; Maryland’s Harford, Cecil, and Kent counties; and Southern Delaware.